The Australian Fijian Rugby League is a non profit organisation, established in Sydney in 2003. Since then, it’s existed to empower young Fijians – by ethnicity or nationality – in the Australian community, through the game of rugby league. The organisation is managed by seven Board members, and several Committee members, who are experienced coaching staff, event managers, marketing professionals, and are currently led by President James Pickering.

Since 2003, the Australian Fijian Rugby League has developed countless players who have gone on to play representative Rugby at various levels. Players such as  Junior Roqica, Kane Evans, Eloni Vunkece, Akuila Uate, Apisai Koroisau, Marcelo Montoya, Sitiveni Moceidreke, Joe Lovodua, Henry Raiwalui, James Storer and Junior Fainga’a all came through the Australian Fijian Rugby League program, amongst many more.


The Australian Fijian Rugby League creates equal opportunities for young Fijians in the Australian community, to empower, include and connect them with rugby league and Fijian culture.


The Australian Rugby League aims to become a community hub and touch point for young Fijians in Australia.


The Australian Rugby League enables this mission and vision through connecting young people with training, coaching and the opportunity to play rugby league.

Australian Fijian Rugby League Board

James Pickering

Vice President
Jeannette Evans

Joycelyn Pickering

Malani Saukuru

Head Coach
Joe Saukuru

Rugby Operations
Michael Kissun

Liaison Officer
Esala Vute

Player Representative
Hamilton Hughes

Australian Fijian Rugby League Committee

Stephanie Anthony

Digital Marketing
Arieta Tora Rika

Media Liaison
Trent McFarland

Player Liaison and Representative Assistant
Selina Tokabobo

To find out more about the Australian Fijian Rugby League, email us at